Rotary GTR 2017 Done and Dusted

On the very cold Saturday morning the 19th of August, the runners that entered the Rotary GTR 2017 race took to the road.

With the temperature starting at 2° on Saturday morning, the challenge of loving running and running for charity was tested.

We were amazed with the runners and the water point sponsors, being out there in the cold with their high spirits. We could not ask for better people to share the day with, said Chantal Bekker, Rotary GTR Chairman.

We changed the relay run to a team run this year and it proved to be a good change as the companies ’s staff could enjoy the race together from start to finish encouraging one another.

As this race is in aid of Charity we are dependent on volunteers and sponsorships. We are privileged to have the volunteers and the sponsors that support us year after year, said Bekker.

The race results for Saturday is as follows:

• 32KM
1st Man – Graham Malinga, Corrobrick Time 2h:01m,
2nd Man – Vusi Nkosi – Anglo Time 2h:11m
3rd Man – Sibusiso Nalela – Anglo Time: 2h:14m
1st Women – Candice Mahlare, Sinninghill , Time 2h:55m
2nd Women – Setilda Heiberg, Midac, Time: 2h:57m
3rd Women – Puselelo Lesito, Anglo, Time: 2h:58m
The full 32km results are available on the following website link:

• 15Km
1st Man – Jacques Keulder, Midac, Time: 56m:55s
2nd Man – Pholane Moseka, Eskom; Time: 57m:46s
3rd Man – Themba Nkosi, Private, Time: 58m:38s
1st Women – Anishia Freyer, Private, Time: 1h:10m:29s
2nd Women – Lizelle Bekker, Vitality, Time: 1h:17m
3rd Women – Inge Brewis, Midac, Time: 1h:19m

• 4.9KM
1st Man – Stefan Mellet, Private, Time: 22m:15s
2nd Man – Jaco van Aarde, MMK, Time: 22m: 16s
3rd Man – Richard Sibiya, Private, Time: 23m:25s
1st Women – Ivy Ndlovu, Private
2nd Women – Christa van Rensburg, Private
3rd Women – Ihante Kruger

• Teams (distance 4,9km)

1st Team – Exxaro, Time 15m:00
2nd Team – Virgin Active Time: 16m:00
3rd Team – Izwelenthu Time: 18m:00

Primary Schools:
1st Team – Klippies (Laerskool Klipfontein), Time: 17m:00
2nd Team – Kanonkop Laerskool, Time: 18m:00
3rd Team – Dennies (Dennesig Laerskool), Time: 21m:00

High Schools:
1st Team – WH De Klerk Skool, Time: 17m:00
2nd Team – WH De Klerk Skool, Time: 17m:00
3rd Team – Eastdene Combined School Time: 18m:00

We would like to thank each and every person that took part in this year’s Rotary GTR 2017 race. This day would not be possible without you. We would also like to thank all our sponsors and volunteers for their hard work and commitment to the largest Charity Race in Mpumalanga.


Entries for the GTR 2017 are open

TRAC continues its support of GTR

Zita Goldswain
Assistant Editor

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Rowers slaan toe na braai